Cats being arseholes and dogs eating bacon. These are a few of my favourite things.

Whenever I’m sad, not depressed, sad (that’s a different ball game!) I have several things to cheer myself up. I want to share them with you.

About a month ago, I got a letter through from the hospital, I was declared officially cancer free. My cervix now contains nothing more than flesh, which I was thrilled about. My parents said “That’s good” and went back to watching TV. So I watched this…

That never fails! I have actually laughed myself to tears with that before. But I’m cancer free, so that’s good enough on it’s own!

If it’s sunny, I go outside and just feel the sun on my skin. I close my eyes and feel the space behind my eyes, I feel every breath filling my lungs. It’s very soothing, even at the most hectic of times, just taking a minute to feel the sun and my own body, sometimes it can make the difference between making it through the day or not.

Sometimes I’ll find this…

The important thing to remember is that if you tell a cat person “cats are arseholes” they’ll normally sigh and say “yeah, but they make up for it!” We cat nutters know that they’re little demons in tiny fur coats, but we love them for it!
If you’re not a cat person, how about this dog instead?

That sound is still used in my life, with my family and friends, everywhere, as a wonderful expression of disappointment. And it always amuses me.

There are so many ways to turn a frown upside down, as it were, and they all depend on you, each individual person. But remember something, please. It’s ok to be sad sometimes, it’s something that makes us human, it’s a way for us to experience the full range of emotions, the spectrum of humanity. If you have a special person in your life; hug them, tell them you care. If you don’t, just remember you’re you, you don’t need someone there to complete you, not at the moment. Patience makes for a worthy friend. I’m lucky, I have that special person in my life, and he means the world to me. But I had to learn how to be happy in me before I could be happy with him, which took me a while. I’m glad I have him there.

It’s ok to be sad, just don’t wallow in it!

But do wallow in a paddling pool, sometimes the simple things are the best!

Leave a Reply

